Spiritual GPS

When was the last time you or your family got lost driving to an unfamiliar destination?  

How could a GPS or a smartphone app have helped you get back on track?
 
 
Just about every smartphone has a maps app that is designed to give turn-by-turn directions to wherever you need to go.  These simple apps have kept many drivers from wandering aimlessly as they search for their destination. 
 
As many of know, I lost my mom to cancer at the beginning of this month.  It’s amazing how many times a song or a picture can bring back a flood of lifetime memories.  Even now as I write this I am listening to Christmas music and just reflecting on Christmas memories and thinking of how very strange it is going to be not having my mom here this Christmas season…..
 
So….grieving over the loss of a family member, or a friend, or even a sin in your life can leave you feeling lost and without direction, too.  
 
So how do we navigate our emotions when sorrow takes us off course? 
 
Are we expected to simply figure it out on our own? 
 
Jeremiah 31:10-14 tells us this…
“Hear the word of the Lord, O nations; 
proclaim it in distant coastlands:
He who scattered Israel will gather them
and will watch over his flock like a shepherd.
For the Lord will ransom Jacob 
and redeem them from the hand of those stonger than they.  
They will come and shout for joy in the heights of Zion; 
they will rejoice in the bounty of the Lord–
the grain, the new wine and the oil,
the young of the flocks and herds. 
They will be like a well watered garden, 
and they will sorrow no more. 
Then maidens will dance and be glad,
young men and old as well. 
I will turn their mourning into gladness;
I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow. 
I will satisfy the priests with abundance,
and my people will be filled with my bounty,”
                                                        declares the Lord. 
 
 
What promises did God make to His people in these verses? 
 
How can knowing that God desires to shepherd you on your journeys through difficult times bring comfort and hope?
 
In times of sorrow God doesn’t want you to wander aimlessly without direction.  In fact, within these verses lies a promise that God will turn mourning into gladness.  God longs to be our Navigation (our GPS).  He wants to navigate us towards providing hope and peace throughout our journey.  Throughout Scripture God fulfills His promises time and time again, and you can take comfort in knowing His promises to turn mourning into gladness are no different. 
 
As I was speaking with my mom a few days before she passed…of course I was crying like a baby and she very passionately touched my face so I would look at her and she said this isn’t goodbye…this is only “see you later”.  (that hope is mourning into gladness)
 
 
-Pastor Corey
 
 
Father God, thank You for guiding me through the difficult days in my life…and be with my family and friends that feel the pain of loss this holiday season. 
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

